Duterte signs order creating National Amnesty Commission

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Spread the love
President Rodrigo Roa Duterte checks the phone of one of the members of the cabinet during the 42nd Cabinet Meeting at the Malacañan Palace on October 11, 2019. Malacañang Photo

President Rodrigo Duterte has signed an executive order forming the National Amnesty Commission, a government body which is tasked to forge peace with various groups in the country.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque in a briefing announced that Duterte has approved the creation of the commission, which will consist of seven members. This includes a chairperson and two regular members whom he will appoint.

The chiefs of the Department of Justice, Department of National Defense, Department of Interior and Local Government, and the Office of the Presidential Adviser on Peace, Reconciliation and Unity will serve as ex-officio members of the commission.

The primary task for the commission will be processing applications and identify those who are qualified to be granted amnesty.

“Yung amnesty po, parang hindi nangyari ang mga bagay-bagay na nagawa ng ibang grupo na usually nagiging krimen ng rebelyon,” Roque said.

IRR out for Public Service Act

Spread the love

Spread the loveMANILA — The stage is set for greater foreign ownership of certain sectors as the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA)