Duterte signs law dividing Rizal 2nd district into three

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Spread the love

President Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law a bill that splits Rizal province’s second district into three new legislative districts.

Republic Act No. 11533 was signed into law on March 25. It sought to split the 2nd district into three, which shall “take effect in the 2022 national and local elections.”

Each legislative district shall be composed of the following municipalities:

2nd district:

– Cardona

– Baras

– Tanay

– Morong

– Jala-jala

– Pililia

– Teresa

3rd district:

– San Mateo

4th district:

– Rodriguez

The bill was filed in Congress to ensure representation for all inhabitants of the Province of Rizal, according to the bill’s sponsor.

Article 6, Section 5 of the 1987 Constitution provides that a locality with at least 250,000 residents and comprise “as far as practicable, contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory” must have one representative in the House of Representatives.

DepEd to boost security, mental health efforts

Spread the love

Spread the loveMANILA – The Department of Education (DepEd) assured on Thursday it will boost coordination and interventions for security and mental health concerns

LRT-2 to allow pets starting February

Spread the love

Spread the loveMANILA — Starting February, pets will be allowed on the Light Rail Transit Line 2 (LRT-2), but in accordance with certain