Today in Philippine History

Spread the love

On May 31, 1996, the Philippines and Malaysia signed a memorandum of agreement (MOA) declaring the Turtle Islands as Turtle Islands Heritage Protected Area (TIHPA).

The TIHPA is composed of six islands designated by the Philippines: Boaan, Langaan, Great Bakkungaan, Lihiman, Taganak, and Baguan; and three islands designated by Malaysia; Palau Selingaan, Palau Gulisaan, and Palau Bakkungaan Kechil.

Turtle Islands Wildlife Sanctuary is regarded as the major nesting ground, with more than 1,000 nesters annually of the Green Turtle (Chelonia mydas), in the whole ASEAN Region.

Worldwide, marine turtle populations have critically declined, prompting the declaration of all species of marine turtle as endangered.