BTS sa Kongreso? Cayetano draws flak for using K-pop group

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Spread the love

Ousted House Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano and six of his allies is reportedly forming a new ‘independent majority’ bloc in the lower chamber, inspired by the famous South Korean boy band BTS.

Just like the famous K-pop group, the “BTS sa Kongreso” will have 7 members, all of whom lost their House posts when Marinduque Representative Lord Allan Velasco took over Cayetano’s leadership in 2020.

Cayetano, along with Camarines Sur Rep. LRay Villafuerte, Laguna Rep. Dan Fernandez, Batangas Rep. Ranie Abu, Anakalusugan’s Mike Defensor, Bulacan Rep. Kuya Sy-Alvarado, and Capiz Rep. Fred Castro, will be introducing themselves as “BTS sa Kongreso”, he informed the media.

“Maybe you can call us independent majority. I don’t want to say we’re against Velasco. We would just be more critical of certain issues and legislation,” Villafuerte said. 

The new bloc is expected to explain to launch their group and explain their chosen name on Thursday.

BTS is a world-renowned music group based in South Korea, with seven male members: RM, Jin, SUGA, J-Hope, Jimin, V, and Jungkook. They exploded in popularity in the recent years, close to being a household name even in countries outside South Korea, including the Philippines.

But Twitter lit up like dynamite with the use of the initials BTS as it lashed out at Cayetano for using the South Korean boyband’s name for his new bloc seen to usher in a comeback.The fans of K-pop phenomenon BTS are not buying it.

PBBM: Philippines facing water crisis

Spread the love

Spread the loveMANILA — President Marcos has signed an executive order creating a water resource management office (WRMO) as part of efforts to